Published
The short answer
A quotes marketplace's Queensland page lists $55 to $95 an hour for general carpentry in 2026 (GST not stated, read 28 October 2026). The same publisher's national guide lists $85 to $155 an hour for carpenters and joiners in metro areas, and a call-out or minimum charge of $70 to $120 (published 18 March 2026, checked 8 October 2026); it advises asking whether a rate includes GST. Neither is a Brisbane-only figure. Most carpentry is priced per job once the carpenter has seen the work or photos of it, and a job valued over $3,300 comes with a QBCC licence, a written contract and home warranty insurance.
Carpenter hourly rates and call-out charges
Carpenter rates per hour
| Rate | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Carpenter, general carpentry, Queensland | $55 – $95 per hour | The Quote Yard (Queensland) |
| Carpenter or joiner, metro areas | $85 – $155 per hour | The Quote Yard (national) |
| Carpenter or joiner, regional areas | $75 – $135 per hour | The Quote Yard (national) |
| Call-out or minimum charge | $70 – $120 | The Quote Yard (national) |
The Queensland row is from a quotes marketplace's 2026 Queensland carpentry page (undated; GST not stated), read 28 October 2026. The other rows are from the same publisher's national rate guide (published 18 March 2026), checked 8 October 2026: metro and regional carpenter and joiner rates and its call-out or minimum charge; it advises asking whether a rate includes GST. The two pages differ, so each band is shown with its source. Neither is a Brisbane-only figure, and most carpentry is quoted per job once the carpenter has seen the job or photos of it.
Ask what an hourly rate covers: whether timber, hardware and fixings are charged on top, and whether GST is included. For a bigger job, such as new stairs or built-in joinery, ask for a fixed price for the whole job in writing.
Why most carpentry is priced per job
An hourly rate tells you only half of it: one carpenter hangs a door in two hours, another in three. For a defined job, a fixed price in writing lets you compare quotes on what you'll actually pay, and it puts the materials, the clean-up and any extras on the page.
Doors have a Brisbane installer's published per-door prices: see the door installation cost guide. For decks, pergolas, stairs and wardrobes, the size, the materials and the site set the price, so a quote follows a look at the job or good photos.
What changes the price of carpentry in Brisbane
These are the details that move a carpentry quote on Brisbane houses:
- Height and access: work on a highset house, a deck well off the ground or long front stairs takes more setting up than the same job at ground level.
- Timber and hardware: the species (spotted gum, merbau, treated pine or composite) and the fixings you choose change the materials cost, so name them when you ask.
- Matching an older house: verandah boards, VJ boards, mouldings and windows on a Queenslander are matched to the profile that's there, which can mean milled or salvaged timber.
- What's found once work starts: rot or old damage under boards and behind trims can add to the job; a good quote says how that's handled.
- Older homes and asbestos: for a house built before 1990, sheeting may need testing before it's cut, and the Queensland Government says "There will be fees involved".
- Approvals: a deck, pergola or stairs that need a building certifier's approval add the certifier's fee.
- Several jobs together: a list of small jobs done in one visit usually costs less than separate call-outs.
- Waste: old decking, doors and offcuts have to go somewhere; check removal is in the price.
Carpentry jobs over $3,300: licence, contract and home warranty
In Queensland, building work "valued over $3,300" needs a contractor with a QBCC licence of the right class, and the value counts labour, materials and GST. Above that line:
- a domestic building contract "must be in writing and dated and signed"
- the deposit is capped at 10% for contracts under $20,000 and 5% from $20,000
- there's a cooling-off period "within 5 business days"
- the QBCC says the home warranty premium is "compulsory for all residential construction work valued at more than $3,300 (including cost of materials, labour and GST)"
See carpenter or builder: QBCC licences for checking a licence and what the contract rules mean.
How to get a carpentry price you can compare
Send the same details to every carpenter you ask, and the quotes will line up:
- the size or quantity: square metres of deck, number of doors, metres of skirting or fence
- photos of the whole area and the worst part of it
- the timber or finish you want, or that you're happy to take advice
- when the house was built, and whether it's highset
- access: stairs, a narrow side path, or a second storey
Then get a quote from a QBCC-licensed local carpenter with the scope and price in writing.
Questions about carpenter rates
How much does a carpenter charge per hour in Brisbane?
A quotes marketplace's Queensland page lists $55 to $95 an hour for general carpentry in 2026, and the same publisher's national guide lists $85 to $155 an hour for carpenters and joiners in metro areas (published 18 March 2026). Neither gives a Brisbane-only figure. Ask whether a rate includes GST.
Do carpenters charge a call-out fee?
Many do. The same national guide lists $70 to $120 for a call-out or minimum charge. Ask whether it's credited against the job if you go ahead.
Is GST included in carpenter rates?
Neither guide says, and the national one advises asking. Ask for quotes that state whether GST is included. For the QBCC $3,300 threshold, GST counts towards the job's value.
Why do carpenters quote per job instead of per hour?
A fixed price for a defined job lets you compare quotes on what you'll pay, whatever the hours. Hourly rates suit small repairs and lists of odd jobs.
How much deposit should I pay for carpentry?
For domestic building work over $3,300, the deposit is capped at 10% for contracts under $20,000 and 5% for contracts of $20,000 or more.
Is it cheaper to do several carpentry jobs at once?
Usually. One visit for a sticking door, a skirting run and a gate avoids paying several call-outs. List every job in one enquiry with the size or quantity of each.
Where these figures come from
The prices and rules on this page come from these published pages, checked on 8 October 2026 and 28 October 2026.
- The Quote Yard: carpentry services costs QLD · Quotes marketplace, Queensland page for 2026 (undated; GST not stated), read 28 October 2026
- The Quote Yard: how much do tradies charge per hour in Australia · National quotes marketplace rate guide, published 18 March 2026
- Brisbane Door Fitter: installation only · Door installer covering Brisbane, the north Gold Coast and the south Sunshine Coast; undated price list (GST not stated), read 28 October 2026
- Queensland Building and Construction Commission Act 1991 · Queensland legislation, version in force from 1 February 2026 (s 42, s 53C, schedule 1B)
- QBCC: when you need a licence · Queensland Building and Construction Commission, last reviewed 11 August 2021
- QBCC: contracts and agreement types · Queensland Building and Construction Commission, last reviewed 27 June 2025
- QBCC: what is home warranty insurance · Queensland Building and Construction Commission, last reviewed 11 May 2025
- Queensland Government: homeowners, look, check and prepare · asbestos.qld.gov.au, undated page


