Published
The short answer
A Brisbane door installer lists $219 per door to install primed hollow-core internal doors (3 doors or more), $329 per door for solid or glazed internal doors (2 or more) and $579 per door for external doors, installation only, with $179 to take the old doors away (Brisbane Door Fitter, undated price list, read 28 October 2026; GST not stated). Bunnings lists standard internal door installation from $210 for a door bought from its range. The door itself is extra, and a damaged frame, extra hardware or painting add to the price.
Door installation prices per door
These are published prices to install a door you've already bought. Each row names who publishes it:
Internal and external door installation prices
| Door | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Internal hollow-core door, installation only (3 doors or more) | $219 per door | Brisbane Door Fitter (Brisbane) |
| Internal solid or glazed door, installation only (2 doors or more) | $329 per door | Brisbane Door Fitter (Brisbane) |
| External door, installation only | $579 per door | Brisbane Door Fitter (Brisbane) |
| Taking away old doors | $179 | Brisbane Door Fitter (Brisbane) |
| Deadbolt fitted | $149 | Brisbane Door Fitter (Brisbane) |
| Standard internal door installation, door bought from Bunnings | From $210 | Bunnings, listed by Mates Rates (national) |
| Standard external door installation, door bought from Bunnings | From $318 | Bunnings, listed by Mates Rates (national) |
| Non-standard door installation, door bought from Bunnings | From $365 | Bunnings, listed by Mates Rates (national) |
Brisbane Door Fitter's installation-only prices for doors you've bought, from its undated price list, read 28 October 2026. It covers Brisbane, the north Gold Coast and the south Sunshine Coast, and doesn't say whether GST is included. Bunnings' starting prices are for installing an eligible door bought from its own range, as listed by Mates Rates (its sources checked 23 October 2026), read 28 October 2026. None of these prices includes the door.
What a door installation price includes
Installation only means fitting a door you've bought: trimming it to size, cutting the hinge recesses and the latch, hanging it and adjusting it so it closes evenly. The Brisbane installer allows 60 to 90 minutes per door as a guide, and lists extras separately: $179 to take away old doors, $149 for a deadbolt and $69 per door to fit to a metal frame. Painting isn't part of an installation price, so ask for it to be listed if you need it.
Hanging a door means fitting a slab to an existing frame: trimming it to size, cutting the hinge recesses and the latch, and adjusting it so it closes evenly. A pre-hung door comes already fitted in its own frame, which replaces the old frame and architraves.
What changes the cost of hanging a door
- The frame: an old frame that's out of square or damaged takes longer to fit to, or needs replacing.
- Door size: older houses can have doors that aren't today's stock sizes, so the new door is cut down or made to measure.
- The door type: solid-core, glazed and external doors are heavier and take more fitting than hollow-core doors.
- Sliding and bifold doors: tracks, guides and adjustment add time; a cavity sliding door needs its cavity unit in the wall.
- Hardware: locks, deadbolts, closers and smart locks add parts and fitting.
- Painting: a new door needs priming and painting, usually priced separately.
- How many: doing several doors in one visit usually costs less per door than one at a time.
Front and external door installation
A front door has to seal against weather and lock securely, so the frame, sill and seals matter as much as the door. The Brisbane installer lists $579 per external door, installation only, with a bottom weather seal at $99 and a deadbolt at $149; Bunnings lists standard external door installation from $318 for a door bought from its range. The door itself, and any frame work, are extra.
If a new or wider opening is cut into a wall of a house built before 1990, check the wall lining first: the Queensland Government says such a house has "a good chance" of containing asbestos. See asbestos before renovating.
Door jobs and the QBCC $3,300 threshold
In Queensland, building work "valued over $3,300", counting labour, materials and GST, needs a QBCC-licensed contractor. A door or two usually sits below that. A whole house of new doors, supplied and installed, can go over it, and then the licence, written contract and deposit rules apply: see carpenter or builder: QBCC licences.
For a quote from a QBCC-licensed local carpenter, count the doors, measure one, say whether the frames stay, and send a photo. More on the work itself: door installation and repairs in Brisbane.
Questions about door installation cost
How much does it cost to replace an internal door?
To install a door you've bought, a Brisbane door installer lists $219 per primed hollow-core internal door (3 or more) and $329 per solid or glazed door (2 or more), plus $179 to take the old doors away (Brisbane Door Fitter; GST not stated). The door is extra.
How much does it cost to hang a door, labour only?
Bunnings lists standard internal door installation from $210 for an eligible door bought from its range, and the Brisbane installer charges $219 per hollow-core door for three or more. Both are installation only.
Does the price include the frame and painting?
Usually not. An installation-only price covers hanging the door you supply. Frame repairs and painting are quoted separately, and the Brisbane installer lists $69 per door to fit to a metal frame.
How much does a front door installation cost?
The Brisbane installer lists $579 per external door, installation only, and Bunnings lists standard external door installation from $318. The door, a new frame and locks add to that.
Is a solid door dearer to hang than a hollow-core door?
Yes. The Brisbane installer lists $329 per solid or glazed internal door against $219 per hollow-core door. Solid and glazed doors are heavier and take more fitting.
Do I need a QBCC-licensed carpenter to hang doors?
Building work valued over $3,300, including labour, materials and GST, needs a QBCC-licensed contractor. A few doors usually come in under that; a whole house of doors supplied and installed may not.
Where these figures come from
The prices and rules on this page come from these published pages, checked on 28 October 2026.
- Brisbane Door Fitter: installation only · Door installer covering Brisbane, the north Gold Coast and the south Sunshine Coast; undated price list (GST not stated), read 28 October 2026
- Mates Rates: door installation cost in Australia (2026 guide) · National jobs marketplace guide listing Bunnings' published installation prices (its sources checked 23 October 2026), read 28 October 2026
- QBCC: when you need a licence · Queensland Building and Construction Commission, last reviewed 11 August 2021
- Queensland Government: homeowners, look, check and prepare · asbestos.qld.gov.au, undated page


